Skip to main content

Prison Records at the Archives & Library of the Ohio History Connection

General Information about the London Prison Farm

A potato field worked by inmates

 

The London Prison Farm was located about a mile northwest of London in Madison County. Construction was started in the early 1920's and at that time the institution was a branch unit of the Ohio Penitentiary. Prisoners on good behavior were transferred from the Ohio Penitentiary to the London Prison Farm. With completion in 1925 of its main building, the London Prison farm was established as a separate correctional institution.

 


Records

We hold the following London Prison Farm admission records:

Prisoners' register 1908-1948 [State Archives Series 1609]

Records are arranged chronologically by date of admission. The inmate's London Prison Farm admission/serial number, as well as, his Ohio Penitentiary admission/serial number. 


Index

We hold the following index (by county) to the London Prison Farm Admission Records:

County admission book 1912-1962 [State Archives Series 1693]


Additional Resources

Other primary source materials we hold relating to the London Prison Farm:

To learn what archival materials we hold that were created by or on the subject of the London Prison Farm, enter the words London Prison Farm in the Authors/Creators, or Subjects field of the Archives Database  of our Online Collections Catalog, then click 'search' in the lower left-hand corner of the page.

All Holdings:

To search all of our databases, enter the words London Prison Farm in the search box of our Online Collections Catalog