Skip to main content

Prison Records at the Archives & Library of the Ohio History Connection

General Information about the Ohio Girls' Industrial School

The Girls Industrial School 1931

 

The State Reform and Industrial School for Girls was created by act of the Ohio General Assembly on March 5, 1869. The purpose of the school was "the reformation of exposed, helpless, evil disposed, and vicious girls." In 1878, the term "incorrigible" was added. A five-member board of trustees purchased a piece of property known as the Ohio White Sulphur Springs Resort, eighteen miles north of Columbus. The first six girls were admitted to the school in October 1869.


Records

We hold the following Ohio Girls' Industrial School Admission Records:

Inmate case record 1869-1911 [State Archives Series 653]

Records list inmate's name, serial number, date received, birth date, age, nationality, father's name, mother's name, habits of parents, education of parents, occupation of father, county of residence, court, name of sentencing judge, office held by judge, offense, education level, health, any special marks, employment (if any), and miscellaneous remarks.

Register of Girls Received and Paroled 1881-1943 [State Archives Series 649]

Received records include: Date, inmate #, name, birth date, nativity, race, county of residence and any relevant remarks


Additional Resources

Other primary source materials we hold relating to the Ohio Girls' Industrial School:,

To learn what archival materials we hold that were created by or on the subject of the Ohio Girls' Industrial School, enter the words Ohio Girls' Industrial School in the Authors/Creators, or Subjects field of the Archives Database  of our Online Collections Catalog, then click 'search' in the lower left-hand corner of the page.

Additional materials such as books and pamphlets we hold relating to the Ohio Girls' Industrial School

To learn what other materials we hold on the subject of the Ohio Girls' Industrial School, enter the words Ohio Girls' Industrial School in the Subjects field of the Library Database  of our Online Collections Catalog, then click 'search' in the lower left-hand corner of the page.

All Holdings:

To search all of our databases, enter the words Ohio Girls' Industrial School in the search box of our Online Collections Catalog.