Skip to main content

Prison Records at the Archives & Library of the Ohio History Connection

General Information about the Ohio Reformatory for Women

An inmate works in the fields

 

In 1911, the Ohio General Assembly authorized the establishment of a separate women's penal institution. The Ohio Reformatory for Women was opened in Marysville, September 1, 1916 with a total population of 34 inmates.

Prior to its opening, women were incarcerated in the Ohio State Penitentiary.


Records

We hold the following Ohio Reformatory for Women Admission Records:

Register of prisoners 1913-1943 [State Archives Series 1677]

Arranged chronologically by receiving date. There is no index. Entries list: prisoner’s number, age, race, minimum and maximum terms, crime, county in which convicted, term or court in county in which convicted, date of expiration of minimum term, date of expiration of maximum term, date of discharge, manner of discharge.

Admissions and discharges 1944-1955, 1961-1962, 1967-1978 [State Archives Series 1678]

Arranged chronologically with no index. Entries may include: Name, serial number, date admitted, county of conviction, court, race and gender of any children born in the prison, dates of parole,reports of absence without leave, furlough, suspension of sentence, parole violation, final release.


Index

Our Ohio Reformatory for Women records do not have a name index.

We recommend contacting the OWR directly to obtain the prisoner number or entry date.

Ohio Reformatory for Women
1479 Collins Avenue
Marysville, Ohio 43040
Phone: (937) 642-1065
Fax: (937) 642-7678


Additional Resources

Other primary source materials we hold relating to the Ohio Reformatory for Women:

To learn what archival materials we hold that were created by or on the subject of the Ohio Reformatory for Women, enter the words Ohio Reformatory for Women in the Authors/Creators, or Subjects field of the Archives Database  of our Online Collections Catalog, then click 'search' in the lower left-hand corner of the page.

Additional materials such as books and pamphlets we hold relating to the Ohio Reformatory for Women

To learn what other materials we hold on the subject of the Ohio Reformatory for Women, enter the words Ohio Reformatory for Women in the Subjects field of the Library Database  of our Online Collections Catalog, then click 'search' in the lower left-hand corner of the page.>

All Holdings:

To search all of our databases, enter the words Ohio Reformatory for Women in the search box of our Online Collections Catalog.