A guardianship is a relationship in which the guardian makes decisions and acts for minors and adults who are not able to care for themselves or their property, established by the county Probate Court. Prior to 1851, county Courts of Common Pleas were responsible or awarding guardians to minors and wards.
Below are lists of county court resources and records held at the Ohio History Connection Archives & Library. Many resources are library materials published by local genealogical societies to guide in guardianship research. Most county court records are related to guardianship, but may not include official guardianship records. Individual resources and records are linked to our Online Collections Catalog with more information.
Some guardianship records below contain negative microfilm which is restricted but may be copied for public use upon request. Once a request is received, please allow four to six weeks for processing of the negative microfilm.
The following Adams County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Adams County, Ohio, Probate Court journal abstracts : guardianship and administrator's bonds, vol. III, 1855-1859 by the Adams Co. Genealogical Society [R 929.377186 Ad17p 1855-1859]
Adams County, Ohio, Probate Court journal abstracts : guardianship and administrator's bonds, vol. [5], 1852-1879 by the Adams Co. Genealogical Society [R 929.377186 Ad17p 1852-1879]
The following Allen County Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Guardians' docket [microform], 1904-1925. [State Archives Series 6839]
Journal [microform], 1866-1918. [State Archives Series 6838]
The following Champaign County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Champaign County, Ohio : guardianship and indentures, 1805-1858 abstracted by Pat Stickley [R 929.3771465 C357g]
The following Clermont County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Clermont County, Ohio, wills, estates, & guardianships, 1800-1851 : an index by Aileen M. Whitt [R 929.377179 W617i 1986]
Clermont County, Ohio, wills, estates, & guardianships, 1851-1900 : an index by Aileen M. Whitt [R 929.377179 W617i2 1987]
The following Columbiana County resources and Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Abstracts of all the wills, letters of administration and guardianship records in Probate Record Books 1, 2, 3 and 4 of Columbiana, Co., Ohio compiled by Jean Van Fossan and Sarah Andrus [R 929.377163 D265a]
Abstract of wills, administration and guardianship bonds and letters [microform], 1805-1825. [State Archives Series 5397]
The following Coshocton County Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Guardians bonds [microform], 1839-1870. [State Archives Series 5417]
Guardians bonds and letters [microform], 1891-1925. [State Archives Series 5418]
Guardians' docket [microform], 1893-1925. [State Archives Series 5419]
The following Delaware County Probate Court and Clerk of Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Civil docket, 1871-1878. [State Archives Series 4959]
Trial docket, 1852-1853, 1864-1873. [State Archives Series 4971]
Common Pleas journal [microform], 1825-1855. [State Archives Series 4899]
The following Erie County Clerk of Courts records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Common Pleas Journal and Index. 1838-1854 [State Archives Series 7604]
Common Pleas journal and index [microform], 1838-1854. [State Archives Series 7234]
The following Fairfield County resources and Clerk of Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Index to wills, estates, guardianships and partitions, Fairfield County, Ohio, 1803-1900 [R 929.377158 In22w 2003]
Common Pleas journal [microfilm], 1838-1854. [State Archives Series 3341]
The following Fayette County resources and Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
The Fayette County chronicle : a collection of genealogical and historical records by Sandy Fackler [R 977.1813 F294f 1987]
Index to guardians' bonds and accounts, 1828-1869. [State Archives Series 5173]
The following Franklin County resources, Probate Court, and Clerk of Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Index to guardianship records of Franklin County, Ohio, 1803-1850 compiled by W. Louis Phillips [R 929.377156 P547ig]
Case files [microform]. 1851-1975. [State Archives Series 3808]
Common Pleas order books, 1809-1965. (Minute books) [State Archives Series 3111]
Confirmation of accounts. [State Archives Series 3811]
Estate accounts [microform], 1803-1879, 1977. (Case files) [State Archives Series 3819]
General index to civil docket [microform], 1860-1932. [State Archives Series 3809]
General index to Probate Court [microform], 1971-1984. [State Archives Series 3821]
Guardians and wards index [microform], 1806-1919. (Index to guardians and wards) [State Archives Series 3827]
Guardians' bonds [microform], 1849-1895. [State Archives Series 3826]
Index to guardians' bonds and accounts, 1828-1869. [State Archives Series 5173]
Journal [microform], 1852-1967. (Order book, 1852- May 1879) [State Archives Series 3829]
The following Hardin County Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Executors', administrators' and guardians' docket [microform], 1873-1882. [State Archives Series 5609]
Guardians' docket [microform], 1865-1889. [State Archives Series 5611]
The following Henry County Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Guardians' docket [microform], 1874-1895, 1876-1882. [State Archives Series 5623]
The following Highland County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Wills, administrations, guardianships and adoptions of Highland County, Ohio, 1805-1880, compiled by David N. McBride and Jane N. McBride [R 929.377184 M122w]
The following Hocking County Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Guardianship papers [microform], 1831-1903. [State Archives Series 6858]
Index to guardianship papers [microform], 1837-1983. [State Archives Series 6805]
The following Huron County Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Administration- guardians' records [microform], 1825-1832. [State Archives Series 5678]
Index to probate estates and guardianships [microform], 1815-1852. [State Archives Series 5681]
Probate docket (administrators and guardians) [microform], 1849-1855. [State Archives Series 5682]
The following Jefferson County resources and Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Court appointed and chosen guardians Jefferson County, Ohio from common pleas court journals to 1818 taken by Mrs. Mary E. Di Thomas [R 929.377169 D634c]
Guardian docket [microform], 1895-1920. [State Archives Series 6899]
Legal Forms Examples and Other Records, 1817-1830. 1817-1830 [State Archives Series 6311]
The following Madison County Clerk of Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Common Pleas civil journal, 1810-1817, 1834. [State Archives Series 3700]
The following Marion County resources, Probate Court, and Clerk of Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Marion County, Ohio, records : Marion, Ohio edited by Maxine Marshall [R 929.3771514 M357m 1994]
Common Pleas Court journal [microform], 1829-1856. [State Archives Series 3417]
Guardianship and inventories record, 1859-1869. [State Archives Series 3473]
The following Morrow County Clerk of Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Common Pleas journal [microform], 1848-1852. [State Archives Series 5001]
The following Ottawa County Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Guardians' docket [microform], 1880-1932. [State Archives Series 5930]
The following Pickaway County Clerk of Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Common Pleas order book, 1810-1854. [State Archives Series 3623]
The following Pike County Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Guardianship records of minor children Pike County, Ohio, 1815-1889. [R 929.3771847 G931]
Records of Probate Court Judge E. R. Allen, 1864-1889. 1864-1889 [State Archives Series 5986]
The following Preble County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Preble County, Ohio probate abstracts : estates & guardianships by Audrey Gilbert [R 929.377171 G372pp]
The following Putnam County Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Guardians' docket [microform], 1880-1943. [State Archives Series 6019]
The following Sandusky County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Sandusky County, Ohio index to wills, estates, and guardianships, 1820-1900 compiled by Dollie Baukus [et al.] [R 929.3771214 Sa571 1991]
The following Scioto County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Early court records of Scioto County, Ohio by Caryn R. Shoemaker [R 929.377187 Sh73e]
The following Tuscarawas County Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Case files [microform], 1904-1932. [State Archives Series 6183]
Guardians' docket [microform], 1832-1977. (Guardianship docket) [State Archives Series 6187]
Journal [microform], 1852-1969. [State Archives Series 6188]
The following Union County Probate Court and Clerk of Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Appearance docket, 1877-1881. (Civil docket) [State Archives Series 5277]
Civil docket, 1914-1961. [State Archives Series 5301]
Common Pleas journal [microform], 1820-1855. [State Archives Series 5221]
Final record of appointment of guardians, idiots, etc., 1908-1933. [State Archives Series 5297]
Guardian's docket, 1870-1948. [State Archives Series 5298]
Guardian's inventory, 1875-1885. [State Archives Series 5300]
Guardians, minors, and incompetents records, 1932-1942. [State Archives Series 5310]
Journal, 1852-1864, 1870-1962. [State Archives Series 5283]
Miscellaneous records, 1916-1919. [State Archives Series 5302]
The following Van Wert County Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Guardians' docket [microform], 1873-1896. [State Archives Series 6199]
The following Warren County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Guardianships, Warren County, Ohio, Probate Court, 1803-1916 compiled & edited by Ellen Van Houten & Florence Cole [R 929.3771763 V317g 1989]
The following Washington County resources and Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Abstract of probate records, Washington County, Ohio : wills, estates, guardianships, 1789-1855 compiled by Bernice Graham & Elizabeth S. Cottle [R 929.377198 G76a 1982]
Guardian docket [microform], 1893-1910. [State Archives Series 6941]
The following Wayne County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will abstracts, estates and guardianships, Wayne County, Ohio, 1812-1851 by Richard G. Smith [929.377161 Sm64w 1981]
Will abstracts, estates, and guardianships, Wayne County, Ohio by Richard G. Smith [R 929.377161 Sm64w v. 1 (1812-1851) & R 929.377161 Sm64w v. 2 (1852-1900)]
The following Wood County resources and Probate Court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
An index to Wood County, Ohio, wills, estates, & guardianships, 1851-1900 [R 929.377116 In25 1986]
Guardians' docket [microform], 1852-1885. [State Archives Series 6268]
Discover books, newspapers, periodicals, company catalogs, pamphlets, maps, atlases and more!