Our archival and print collections related to LGBTQ+ history, life, and experiences are available for researchers to use in the Ohio History Center Archives & Library. This guide provides a starting point for your research -- but know that there is more to be found by searching our online catalog and our archives catalog! Digitized materials from GOHI collections are available on Ohio Memory. Oral histories are available at GOHI.org.
For questions related to archival collections, please contact Library Services at reference@ohiohistory.org or (614) 297-2011.
Below, you'll find a list of archival collections to get your research started. These materials have been donated by individuals and organizations, and they include correspondence, photographs, video/audio recordings, fliers, and more. They are available to view and use in our research room.
Search our Archives Catalog to find more! Tip: use search terms like "GOHI" and "LGBTQ+"
Robert Berger Collection [MSS 1533]
Berwick Ball Collection [MSS 8710 AV]
Tim W. Brown Papers [MSS 8826 AV]
Cincinnati LGBTQ+ Pride Collection [MSS 8778]
Columbus Community Pride Collection [MSS 8726]
Columbus Eagle Bar Staff [SC 5775]
Columbus Free Press Collection [MSS 1301 AV]
Laura Cunningham photograph collection [AV 298]
Betty Eicher and Mary Parker Brown Papers [MSS 1699 AV]
First Baptist Church of Granville Collection [MSS 1469]
Flaggots Ohio, LLC Collection [AV 183]
Franklin County Marriage Checklist [VFM 6373]
GLBT Life in Central Ohio Panel Discussions [AV 199]
Christina Goddard Graves Papers [MSS 8543]
Lynn Greer Collection [AV 276]
H.I.S. Kings Records [MSS 1419]
Bryan Knedler Collection [MSS 8707 AV]
Deborah Kuzawa Collection [MSS 8820]
Michael O'Brien Collection [MSS 1669 AV]
Ohio State University Gay and Lesbian Alliance Records [MSS 898]
Stonewall Union Records [MSS 1150 AV]
David Zimmer Photograph Collection [AV 306]
Bryan Knedler Collection, MSS 8707 AV
The Ohio History Connection maintains a rich collection of LGBTQ+ newsletters, newspapers, and magazines from across the state. In some cases, we hold the only known issue of a publication; other titles continued publication for decades. Browse our holdings below, and find even more by searching our online catalog!
Alliance Advisor (Bowling Green, 1983)
Bar Trash (Columbus, 1996-1997)
BRAVO Bulletin Board (Columbus, 1998)
Central Heat: A Guide to Gay Ohio (Columbus, 1995)
Central Ohio Gay Newsletter (Columbus)
Columbus Gay Activist (1972)
Dinah (Cincinnati, 1970s-1980s)
Gaybeat (Cincinnati, 1985-1995)
Gay People's Chronicle (Cleveland, 1985-2008)
GEAR Foundation Newsletter (Cleveland)
Gold (Akron-Canton, 1979-1981)
Good Times (Columbus, 1984-1988)
Greater Cincinnati GLBT News (2003-2006, 2008)
HeadLine (Columbus)
High Gear (Cleveland, 1976-1982)
In Your Pants (Westerville, 1995-1996)
Index of Gay and Lesbian News 1932-1979
Lambda (Athens, 1972)
Lavender Closet (Athens, 1984)
Lavender Starship (Columbus, 1972-1973)
Metro-nome (Columbus, 1993)
Midwest Roundup (Cincinnati, 1991-1992)
New Local Make-Up Magazine (Akron, 1996)
New Voice (Columbus, 1988)
News of the Columbus Gay and Lesbian Community (Columbus, 1979-1993)
Nouveau (Cincinnati, 1990-1991)
OFF (Columbus)
Off the Wall: Newsletter of the OSU Gay Alliance (Columbus)
Ohio Gay Guide (Columbus, 1985)
Ohio Gay Rights Coalition Newsletter (Columbus)
OUTlines (Cleveland, 1999-2001)
Outlook News (Columbus, 1999-2003)
Outlook Weekly (Columbus, 2004-2009)
Outlook (Columbus, 2009-2016)
Pride Magazine (Cleveland, 1983-1984)
PROgram/TAGALA (Toledo)
Purple Cow (Columbus, 1974-1976)
Rightfully Proud (Dayton, 1991-1992)
Santa Marian (Columbus, 1976)
Spectrum (Dayton, 1998)
Spirit: Official Newsletter of Dignity Central Ohio (Columbus, 1982)
Spotlight Magazine (Columbus, 1998-2001)
Stonewall Union Report (Columbus, 1989-1994)
Stonewall Union Journal (Columbus, 1994-2001)
Toledo's Pride Pages (1997-1998)
Tradewinds (Columbus, 1991-2000)
Valentine News (Cleveland, 1991-1992, 1996)
Wall (Columbus)
Waves (Athens)
Yellow page (Cincinnati, 1979-1985)
Browse our collection of print materials below and search the catalog to find more!
1993 Annual Miami Valley Lesbian & Gay Resource Guide
1999 Ohio Lesbian Festival: Celebrating Our 11th Year
Hari Ziyad, Black Boy Out of Time
Celebrating 30 Years of Baubles, Bangles, & Beads--A Costume Ball: Oct. 29, 1994
Converge, August 26-October 16, 2021: Artists Archive of the Western Reserve, Judson Manor, Lake Erie College, LGBT Community Center, MetroHealth Hospital (exhibition catalog)
Danny Pellegrino, How do I Un-Remember This?: Unfortunately True Stories
Lavender Listings (1984-2008)
Ken Schneck, LGBTQ Cincinnati
Ken Schneck, LGBTQ Cleveland
Ken Schneck, LGBTQ Columbus
Margaret A. Nash, Mad River, Marjorie Rowland, and the Quest for LGBTQ Teachers' Rights
Karen McClintock, My Father's Closet
Who's Who in GLBT Columbus (2011-2012)
Search our museum collections catalog to learn about GOHI objects, including political buttons, banners, clothing, and more. Note: while we prepare to move our museum collections into a new facility, objects in the GOHI Collections will not be accessible. We look forward to having you visit once the move is complete!
In the meantime, you can see images of some objects in the GOHI Collections online on Ohio Memory:
Dolly Divine silver handbag, H 99850
New to LGBTQ+ research and not sure where to start? Launch your research with some suggested collections!
Interested in Pride events? Before you dive in, head to our blog to learn about the origins of Pride. Pride is one of the most visually documented topics in the GOHI collections. Try a search on Ohio Memory to check out some of the photographs we have digitized.
MSS 1150 AV Stonewall Union Records
AV 183 Flaggots Ohio, LLC Collection
MSS 8778, Cincinnati LGBTQ+ Pride Collection
MSS 8726, Columbus Community Pride Collection
Most GOHI collections do include some politics or protest, as unfortunately LGBTQ+ identities are politicized. However the collections below display a larger focus on the political actions of the community. You can also explore Ohio Memory for a selection of the political items we have digitized.
MSS 8826 AV Tim W. Brown Papers
MSS 1150 AV Stonewall Union Records
MSS 1301 AV Columbus Free Press Collection
VFM 6373 Franklin County Marriage Checklist
Oral history with Charmaine McGuffey
MSS 8726, Columbus Community Pride Collection
The art of drag is centuries old and means something different to each person who performs. To learn more about this art form in Ohio check out the collections below. You can also see a selection of Dolly Divine's costume pieces on Ohio Memory.
AV 306 David Zimmer photograph collection
Julia Applegate and Luster Singleton of H.I.S. Kings are also featured in the oral history collection.
When the rest of the world turns away, LGBTQ+ people have always found each other. Community means chosen families, safe spaces, and long standing institutions.
SC 5775 Columbus Eagle Bar staff
MSS 1669 AV Michael O'Brien Collection
MSS 898 Ohio State University Gay and Lesbian Alliance Records
MSS 1533 Robert Berger Collection
MSS 8707 AV Bryan Knedler Collection
Despite discrimination and official policy, LGBTQ+ Ohioans did (and still do) serve in our nation's armed forces. In fact, David Zimmer began performing drag in the early 1950s as a way to entertain his friends during his military service. Learn more through the collections below, and check out our blog post: Oral Histories of LGBTQ+ Veterans
AV 306 David Zimmer photograph collection
VFM 6328 Christina Goddard Graves papers
The GOHI collections are not currently strong in representing faith organizations in the LGBTQ+ community, however the resources below may assist in your research.
MSS 1469 First Baptist Church of Granville Collection
Oral histories of Luster Singleton and Mark Matson
When documenting the history of the LGBTQ+ community, it is important to seek out first hand accounts, as other accounts of the same story may be discriminatory. Many GOHI collections contain personal accounts, but the collections below focus more specifically on this format.
AV 199 GLBT Life in Central Ohio Panel Discussions
GOHI is striving to better document the LGBTQ+ community in the pre-Stonewall era. This time period can be very hard to document, and requires a closer look at collections OHC has held for a very long time. If you come across a collection you believe should be categorized as LGBTQ+ related, please contact us at gohi@ohiohistory.org.
MSS 1669 AV Betty Eicher and Mary Parker Brown Papers
AV 298 Laura Cunningham photograph collection
