The Ohio History Connection Archives & Library provides in-library access to Ancestry Library Edition. All Ohio public libraries also offer access to the library edition of Ancestry.com when you visit in-person.
Fold3 provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. This database is free to patrons visiting the Archives & Library.
The Ohio Death Records Index Search includes an index to death certificates created in Ohio from 1913-1944 and 1954-1963. You can certificates, even those that have not yet been indexed, through the index search.
The Ohio Incarceration Records Index Search provides information related to Ohio State Reformatory and Ohio State Penitentiary Bertillon Cards. A search for Industrial School Admission Records from the Ohio Girls Industrial School is currently available.(The Boys' Industrial School will be added once we've updated the records!)
Our Research Guides link to many helpful databases, like the R. B. Hayes Ohio Obituary Index and the Bureau of Land Management General Land Office Records website. Select guides related to your research for more information.
Family Search, created by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, includes digitized Ohio county courthouse records from across the state. Family Search is free to use, though an account is needed to view digitized materials.
Public libraries offer a variety of databases through their websites. Some of the databases must be accessed in the library, while others can be searched at home after obtaining a library card. Find your local public library using the Ohio Public Library Information Network website.
OHGenWeb provides free Ohio genealogical and local history information at the state and county levels.
The National Archives has many resources for beginning genealogy on their webpage.
Cyndi's List provides information and access to a variety of helpful genealogy resources across the internet.