Ohio lands were surveyed and sold by the federal government, private individuals, and by two other states, Virginia and Connecticut. Since parts of the state were surveyed at different times, Ohio was divided into different "surveys" or "districts."Ohio also includes a number of smaller land grants, used for a variety of purposes. For example, the Refugee Tract was established by the Continental Congress to benefit residents of Canada and Nova Scotia who sided with the Americans in the Revolutionary War. Some of these special categories include the Moravian Indian Grants, French Grants, Zane's Tracts, Canal Lands, School Lands, and University Lands.
See our Ohio Land Divisions Map to see the various surveys around the state.
Below you will find information about the original land entry and survey records available in the Archives & Library.
For a more complete description of Ohio's land distribution see the Ohio Lands Book available through the Ohio Auditor of State's website, via the link. Also, more detailed information about these Land Divisions and Grants can be found in the document linked to below.
Collection. Copies of original monographs for land office volumes, ca. 1797-1845. [State Archives Series 4342] (Land office volumes) LOV 100-289
Books are organized by Land Survey and then Tract Description (range, township, and section numbers)
Information includes names of first purchasers, numbers of acres purchased, tract description and dates of purchase.
Use Congress Lands and United States Military District Tract & Entry Book Index, ca. 1800-1849, [State Archives Series 4488] GR 8000-8020, to find the Tract & Entry book title, volume, and page number.
Collection. Federal rectangular survey of plats in Ohio, 1798-1911. [State Archives Series 4634]
This series consists of large, loose pages of drawings removed from volumes in which surveyors plats and field notes are recorded.
Plat maps indicate topographical features and types of trees, and may show trails, roads, or buildings. The names of purchasers are not included.
Mylar reproductions are available for use; original documents are restricted.
Numbered Mylar sheets are organized by Land Survey and then Tract Description (range and township numbers). Use the finding aid to locate the exact sheet needed.
Collection. Copies of original monographs for land office volumes, ca. 1797-1845. [State Archives Series 4342] (Land office volumes) LOV 100-289
Books are organized by Land Survey and then Tract Description (range and township numbers)
Information includes topographic features and types of trees encountered along the North, South, East, and West boundaries of township (may also include interior lines)
Use index (LOV 100); Index subdivided by Land Survey and Tract Description; cites Field Note Book volume and page number for the North, South, East, and West boundaries of township (may also include interior lines).