Mental Health Records at the Archives & Library of the Ohio History Connection

We hold the following restricted patient records for the Athens State Hospital:

1. Athens State Hospital Master Patient Index, circa 1905-1988. [State Archives Series 7504]

2. Grave Record, 1880-1991. [State Archives Series 2157]

3. Superintendent’s Correspondence, 1909-1926. [State Archives Series 231]

The following records are not restricted and are open to researchers in our Archives & Library:

1. Case Book of Male and Female Patients, 1874. [State Archives Series 141]

Note: Ohio University Mahn Center for Archives and Special Collections holds additional patient records for Athens State Hospital. You may want to contact them to ask if they have records for the time period that you are researching.

Ohio University Mahn Center for Archives and Special Collections
Alden Library
Athens, OH 45701
Phone: 740.593.2710
Ohio University Athens Mental Health Center Records Finding Aid
Ohio University Athens Mental Health Center Digital Collection

National Alliance on Mental Health (NAMI)| Athens has a Grave Directory for the Individuals Buried on the Ridges (Athens State Hospital)

We hold the following restricted patient records for the Cleveland State Hospital:

1. General Index to Patients, 1855 March 5-1905 July 29. [State Archives Series 164]

2. Post Office Record, ca. 1875-1890. [State Archives Series 166]

3. Admission Books, 1855-1973. [State Archives Series 314]

4. Register of Patients, 1855-1906. [State Archives Series 348]

5. Patients’ Admittance Ledger by County, 1869-1906. [State Archives Series 892]

6. Discharge and Population Records, 1911-1948. [State Archives Series 1313]

7. Cleveland Psychiatric Institute Patients Registers, 1946-1991. [State Archives Series 5293]

8. Cleveland Psychiatric Institute Death Registers 1963-1996. [State Archives Series 5294]

9. Fairhill Mental Health Center Admissions Registers, 1959 March 9-1970 April 15; 1971 July 1-1975 July 31. [State Archives Series 5295]

We hold the following restricted patient records for the Dayton State Hospital:

1. Admission book for men, 1902-1956. [State Archives Series 58]

2. Register of male and female patients, 1855-1902. [State Archives Series 153]

3. Index for men and women, 1948-1956. [State Archives Series 279]   

4. Admission book for women, 1902-1956. [State Archives Series 573]

5. Index to Register of male and female patients, 1855-1902. [State Archives Series 1717]

6. Index for female admissions, 1876-1957. [State Archives Series 2428]

7. Admission books for men and women, 1950-1956. [State Archives Series 3000]

8. County admission books, 1861-1963. [State Archives Series 3001]

9. Visits and discharges, male patients, 1902-1938. [State Archives Series 3002]

10. Index to men, 1869-1957. [State Archives Series 3004]

11. Visits and discharges, female patients, 1902-1938. [State Archives Series 3006]

The following records are not restricted and are open to researchers in our Archives & Library:

1. Lists of female patients, 1878-1879. [State Archives Series 276]

We hold the following restricted patient records for the Lima State Hospital:

1. Ascherman offenders registry book, 1943-1978. [State Archives Series 1380]

2. Admission, discharge, and death registry books, 1915-1990. [State Archives Series 5107]

3. Admission registry books, 1915-1983. [State Archives Series 5108]

4. Death certificate book, 1974-1988. [State Archives Series 5201]

We hold the following restricted patient records for the Longview State Hospital:

1. Trial visit discharge record, 1923-1961. [State Archives Series 232]

2. Case history of male and female patients, 1863-1885. [State Archives Series 541]

3. Case history of male and female patients, 1886-1918. [State Archives Series 541]

4. Index of male and female patients, 1910. [State Archives Series 566]

5. Discharge record, 1882-1927. [State Archives Series 585]

6. Discharge record filed with Department of Public Welfare, 1924-1949. [State Archives Series 589]

7. Medical Department discharge record, 1929-1947. [State Archives Series 590]

The following records are not restricted and are open to researchers in our Archives & Library:

1. Register of patients, February-June 1860. [State Archives Series 239]

2. Case book of male and female patients, 1860-1887. [State Archives Series 576]

3. Index to register of male and female patients, ca. 1860- 1868. [State Archives Series 603]

4. Death records, 1923-1961. [State Archives Series 641]

5. Medical Department death records, 1929-1947. [State Archives Series 642]            

6. Non-resident patient accounts, 1860-1864. [State Archives Series 668]

7. Court orders and commitment papers, 1854-1864. [State Archives Series 948]

We hold the following restricted patient records for the Massillon State Hospital:

1. Index to Admissions, 1898-1911. [State Archives Series 654]     

2. Case Record Books, 1898-1919. [State Archives Series 697]

The following records are not restricted and are open to researchers in our Archives & Library:

1. Record of Autopsies, 1902-1904, 1910-1913. [State Archives Series 664] 

We hold the following restricted patient records for the Toledo State Hospital:

1. Patient Admission Books, 1888-1916. [State Archives Series 962]

2. Annual Register of Patients, 1888-1914. [State Archives Series 1329]

3. Patient Discharge and Trial Visit Records, 1888-1953. [State Archives Series 1330]

4. Patient Clothing Account Record, 1888-1896, 1902-1906. [State Archives Series 1333]

5. County Admission Book, 1888-1915. [State Archives Series 1334]

6. Index to Patient Admissions, 1888-1916. [State Archives Series 1336]

7. Monthly Report of Admissions to the Department of Public Welfare, 1926-1949. [State Archives Series 1340]

8. Voluntary commitment record, 1902-1913. [State Archives Series 1783] 

We hold the following restricted patient records for the Woodside Receiving Hospital:

1. Admission ledgers, 1945-1986. [State Archives Series 4373]