The will and estate records we hold vary by organization and county. Check our list of Will and Estate records and resources from various Ohio counties and courts. Each set is linked to our catalog with more information. The Scope and Content section of the catalog record describes what information to expect from the collection. All restricted collections include a restriction notice in their catalog record.
Below are lists of county court resources and records held at the Ohio History Connection Archives & Library. Many resources are library materials published by local genealogical societies to guide will and estate research. Individual resources and records are linked to our catalog with more information. The Ohio History Connection does not hold will and estate records created in every county. Please contact the Probate Court, Clerk of Courts, or local records repositories in counties of interest for more information.
Some Will and Estate records below contain negative microfilm which is restricted but may be copied for public use upon request. Once a request is received, please allow four to six weeks for processing of the negative microfilm.
The following Adams County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Adams Co., Ohio index to estate inventories, 1810-1849 [R 929.377186 Ad17e]
Common Pleas inventory of estates [microform], 1816-1826. [State Archives Series 3127]
The following Allen County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Administrators' and executors' docket [microform], 1896-1920. [State Archives Series 6835]
Journal [microform], 1866-1918. [State Archives Series 6838]
Will record [microform], 1904-1917. [State Archives Series 3139]
The following Athens County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Index to Athens County, Ohio estate records, 1805-1914 [R 929.377197 Sch86i 1988]
Administration docket [microform], 1842-1876. [State Archives Series 6777]
Index to estates [microform], 1800-1966. [State Archives Series 6773]
Record of wills, 1814-1879. [State Archives Series 7010]
The following Auglaize County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Journal of settlements [microform]. 1878-1916. [State Archives Series 6831]
Will record [microform]. 1903-1920. [State Archives Series 6826]
The following Belmont County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Case files [microform], 1802- 1836. [State Archives Series 7196]
General Index to Estates [microform], 1803-1935. [State Archives Series 6790]
Will record [microform], 1810-1918. [State Archives Series 6793]
The following Clermont County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Clermont County, Ohio, wills, estates, & guardianships, 1800-1851 : an index [R 929.377179 W617i 1986]
Clermont County, Ohio, wills, estates, & guardianships, 1851-1900 : an index [R 929.377179 W617i2 1987]
The following Columbiana County records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Account Journal. c. 1880s [VOL 1650]
The following Coshocton County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will record [microform], 1888-1912. [State Archives Series 5424]
The following Darke County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
General index estates [microform], 1818-1925. [State Archives Series 5446]
Will record [microform], 1818-1910. [State Archives Series 5451]
The following Defiance County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will record [microform], 1902-1910. [State Archives Series 5466]
The following Delaware County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Civil docket, 1871-1878. [State Archives Series 4959]
Common Pleas journal [microform], 1825-1855. [State Archives Series 4899]
Estate docket, 1852-1853, 1864-1881. [State Archives Series 4969]
Estate docket [microform], 1841-1852. [State Archives Series 4910]
Record of estates [microform], 1831-1849. (Common Pleas inventory and appraisement records) [State Archives Series 4908]
Trial docket, 1852-1853, 1864-1873. [State Archives Series 4971]
The following Erie County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Common Pleas Journal and Index. 1838-1854 [State Archives Series 7604]
Common Pleas journal and index [microform], 1838-1854. [State Archives Series 7234]
Probate Court. Final Record. 1838-1907 [State Archives Series 7635]
Will record [microform], 1901-1911. [State Archives Series 5476]
The following Fairfield County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Fairfield County, Ohio will & estate abstracts, cases 1 thru 500, with index [929.377158 C69f1 1993]
Fairfield County wills and estate abstracts [R 929.377158 C69f 1996 [1-4]]
Index to wills, estates, guardianships and partitions, Fairfield County, Ohio, 1803-1900 [R 929.377158 In22w 2003]
Common Pleas inventory and appraisement records, 1828-1832. [State Archives Series 3342]
Common Pleas journal [microfilm], 1838-1854. [State Archives Series 3341]
The following Fayette County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Index to wills, ca. 1827-1866. (Index to will record) [State Archives Series 5175]
Inheritance tax record, 1905. [State Archives Series 5176]
Record of bond of an executor or an administrator with the will annexed, 1870-1874. [State Archives Series 5180]
The following Franklin County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Index to estate records of Franklin County, Ohio (testate & intestate), 1803-1850 [R 929.377156 P547i]
Will book A & B, 1803 through c. 1847, Franklin County, Ohio : will abstracts, every name index, index to settlement of estate records [R 929.377156 W66 1803-1847]
Worthington, Ohio, estate records, 1803-1850 : transcriptions of inventories, appraisals & personal property sales, abstracts of receipts, guardianships & wills [R 929.377156 W899 2005]
Administration docket, 1803-1976. [State Archives Series 3800]
Administration record, 1803-1967. (Inventory and appraisement record) [State Archives Series 3801]
Administrators' bonds and letters [microform], 1849-1951. [State Archives Series 3803]
Appraisement of personal property [microform], 1803-1815. (Record of appraisement of personal property) [State Archives Series 3864]
Assignees and trustees docket [microform], 1879-1984. [State Archives Series 6974]
Case files [microform]. 1851-1975. [State Archives Series 3808]
Common Pleas inventory and appraisement records [microform], ca. 1800-1825. [State Archives Series 3882]
Common Pleas order books, 1809-1965. (Minute books) [State Archives Series 3111]
Complete record [microform]. 1852-1955. [State Archives Series 3810]
Estate accounts [microform], 1803-1879, 1977. (Case files) [State Archives Series 3819]
Executors' bonds and letters [microform], 1849-1900. [State Archives Series 3823]
General index to civil docket [microform], 1860-1932. [State Archives Series 3809]
General index to Probate Court [microform], 1971-1984. [State Archives Series 3821]
Index to estate assignments and trusts [microform], 1801-1970. (General index.) [State Archives Series 3820]
Index to will record [microform], 1805-1928. [State Archives Series 3851]
Journal [microform], 1852-1967. (Order book, 1852- May 1879) [State Archives Series 3829]
Will packets, 1800-1944. [State Archives Series 7211]
Will record, 1805-1967. [State Archives Series 3853]
The following Gallia County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Index to Gallia County, Ohio wills and estates, 1803-1900 [R 929.377189 In2 1989]
The following Geaugua County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will record [microform], 1891-1910. [State Archives Series 5511]
The following Guernsey County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Guernsey County, Ohio wills and estates index [R 929.377192 K662g 1987]
Will record [microform]. 1891-1918. [State Archives Series 6980]
The following Hancock County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Hancock County, Ohio, wills and estates index, 1851-1900 [R 929.377119 H191w 1987]
The following Hardin County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will record [microform], 1901-1912. [State Archives Series 5613]
The following Henry County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will record [microform], 1899-1910. [State Archives Series 5628]
The following Highland County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will record [microform], 1902-1920. [State Archives Series 3943]
The following Hocking County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Estate papers [microform], 1822-1878. [State Archives Series 6857]
The following Huron County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Huron County early estate index [R 929.377125 H941 1992]
Index to Extant Huron county estate papers, 1815 to 1852 [R 929.377125 T484i]
Index to probate estates and guardianships [microform], 1815-1852. [State Archives Series 5681]
Probate docket (administrators, executors, estate) [microform], 1815-1852. [State Archives Series 5683]
Will record [microform], 1903-1911. [State Archives Series 5684]
The following Jefferson County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Estate administrations Jefferson County, Ohio from common pleas court journals to 1818 [R 929.377169 D634e]
Inventory of estates, Jefferson County, Ohio : books I and II, 1803-1816 [R 929.377169 F8495i]
Administrators docket [microform], 1890-1918. [State Archives Series 6900]
Will record [microform], 1884-1920. [State Archives Series 6898]
The following Knox County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Case files [microform], 1814-1902. [State Archives Series 6844]
Estate records [microform], 1852-1887. [State Archives Series 3275]
Estate records [microform], 1890-1920. [State Archives Series 3275]
Estates settled [microform], 1853-1921. [State Archives Series 3944]
Executors bond & letters [microform], 1896-1918. [State Archives Series 3956]
General index to administrators and executors [microform], 1852-1950. [State Archives Series 3277]
Will record [microform], 1808-1918. [State Archives Series 3288]
The following Lake County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will record [microform], 1896-1899. [State Archives Series 5718]
The following Lawrence County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will records [microform], 1847-1941. [State Archives Series 7278]
The following Licking County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Common Pleas journal [microform], 1813-1815, 1819-1852. [State Archives Series 4773]
The following Madison County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Common Pleas civil journal, 1810-1817, 1834. [State Archives Series 3700]
The following Mahoning County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Mahoning County, Ohio, estates : decedent index [R 929.377139 P975m3 1994]
The following Marion County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Common Pleas Court journal [microform], 1829-1856. [State Archives Series 3417]
The following Monroe County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Administration docket [microform], 1890-1916. [State Archives Series 6928]
Index to estate files [microform], 1887-1935. [State Archives Series 6926]
Record of settlement of accounts [microform], 1867-1922. [State Archives Series 6930]
Will record [microform], 1886-1923. [State Archives Series 6925]
The following Montgomery County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will record [microform], 1805-1910. [State Archives Series 5889]
The following Morgan County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will record [microform], 1888-1920. [State Archives Series 6878]
The following Morrow County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Common Pleas journal [microform], 1848-1852. [State Archives Series 5001]
The following Noble County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Settlement records [microform], 1889-1921. [State Archives Series 6959]
Will record [microform], 1895-1919. [State Archives Series 6960]
The following Perry County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Case files [microform], circa 1820-1885. [State Archives Series 3946]
Will record [microform], 1886-1919. [State Archives Series 3922]
The following Pickaway County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Pickaway County Ohio partition records abstracts : partition records of Common Pleas court terms October term 1836 to June term 1873 : volumes 1 thru 6 [R 929.3771815 H351pp 1996]
Common Pleas order book, 1810-1854. [State Archives Series 3623]
The following Portage County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Portage County Ohio wills and estates, 1817-1874 [R 929.377137 W171p 1993]
Will record [microform], 1886-1918. [State Archives Series 6001]
The following Preble County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Preble County, Ohio probate abstracts : estates & guardianships [R 929.377171 G372pp]
The following Putnam County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will record [microform], 1902-1910. [State Archives Series 6023]
The following Ross County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Case files [microform], 1796-1910. [State Archives Series 6822]
Will record [microform], 1879-1919. [State Archives Series 6820]
The following Seneca County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Index to wills and estates, 1851 thru 1900, Seneca County, Ohio Probate Court [R 929.377124 D726i 1989]
Will record [microform], 1901-1910. [State Archives Series 6102]
The following Tuscarawas County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Index, wills & intestate estates of Tuscarawas County, Ohio, 1809-1850 : & will index, vol. 1 to 12, 1809-1902 [R 929.3 T871 1981]
Tuscarawas County, Ohio, index to administration dockets, 1809- 1878, & will records, 1809-1910 [R 929.377166 T871 1996?]
Case files [microform], 1904-1932. [State Archives Series 6183]
Journal [microform], 1852-1969. [State Archives Series 6188]
Will record [microform], 1809-1953. [State Archives Series 6191]
The following Union County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Common Pleas journal [microform], 1820-1855. [State Archives Series 5221]
The following Vinton County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will record [microform], 1876-1918. [State Archives Series 6885]
The following Warren County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Warren Co., Ohio, box 0 thru box 49 : will & estate records [R 929.3771763 W2513 1994]
Warren Co., OH, box 101-150 : will & estate records. [R 929.3771763 W2515 1997]
Warren County, Ohio index to estates, 1803-1936 [R 929.3771763 W251w 1999]
Warren Co., OH, 1803-1859 : will & estate records [R 929.3771763 W251 1993]
The following Washington County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Abstract of probate records, Washington County, Ohio : wills, estates, guardianships, 1789-1855 [R 929.377198 G76a 1982]
Abstracts of wills and administrations of estates of Washington County, Ohio : with miscellaneous notes and references [R 929.377198 P857ab]
Will record [microform], 1889-1918. [State Archives Series 6940]
The following Wayne County resources are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will abstracts, estates, and guardianships, Wayne County, Ohio [R 929.377161 Sm64w v. 1 (1812-1851) & v. 2 (1852-1900)]
The following Wood County resources and court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
An index to Wood County, Ohio, wills, estates, & guardianships, 1851-1900 [R 929.377116 In25 1986]
Will record [microform], 1899-1910. [State Archives Series 6269]
The following Wyandot County court records are open to researchers in the Archives & Library:
Will record [microform], 1901-1906. [State Archives Series 6271]
County Probate Courts and Courts of Common Pleas may still hold will and estate records from various time periods. Contact the Probate Court or Clerk of Courts in a specific county of interest for more information.
Several repositories across the state collect local government records from nearby county courts. Visit our Ohio Network of American History Research (ONAHR) Centers webpage to view a list of repositories.
Many Ohio counties have their own archives and records centers where historic records are maintained. Not all court records are transferred to these repositories. View the list of County Archives and Records Centers for more information.
Ohio wills and estates to 1850 : an index by Carol Willsey Bell is the culmination of a ten-year project to provide a comprehensive index to will and estate records in Ohio. This resource is available in the Archives & Library, as well as other repositories listed on WorldCat.