Free keyword-searchable digital newspaper database containing over 16 million historic American newspaper pages (covering 1789-1963) and over 150,000 newspaper catalog records (covering 1690-present). Includes over 400,000 pages from Ohio newspapers, representing over 60 communities and 100 titles.
Free digital library containing over 1,000,000 digital images representing every county in the state, and ranging from prehistory to the twenty-first century. More than 450,000 keyword-searchable Ohio newspaper pages (covering 1832-2011) are on this site.The site also has other resources, too, including Topic Guides and Maps and Timelines.
Newspapers.com Ohio Collection
Free keyword-searchable digital newspaper database.
Over 200 newspaper titles from around the state.
Newspapers.com Akron Newspapers Premium Access
Free keyword-searchable digital newspaper database.
Using Chronicling America Podcast Series
Free videos demonstrating the basics of browsing and searching Chronicling America, and providing advanced search tips helping you to understand historical vocabulary differences and keyword searching.
Chronicling America Search Strategy Videos
Free videos highlighting interesting topics and demonstrating specific advanced search strategies. These build on the search skills demonstrated in the Using Chronicling America Podcast Series.
Search guides providing important dates, search terms/strategies and links to sample articles for topics that were widely reported on by the American press. Topics range from famous people, places and events to fads and American pastimes.