Image courtesy of PRES FILE - Harding, Warren G.--With Mrs. Harding, Library of Congress
Related Collections
There are many collections across the United States that contain materials of Warren G. Harding or that relate to him in some way. This list is not exhaustive, but is meant to steer researchers to notable collections held by other institutions.
Alaska's Digital Archives
- Digital repository offering approximately 100 images of the Hardings' July 1923 visit to Alaska during the Voyage of Understanding.
Warren G. Harding papers, 1908-1926 [Library of Congress, MSS24893]
- Correspondence, speeches, subject files, scrapbook, and other papers of Warren G. Harding. Subjects include the entry of the United States into World War I, Armistice Day, political campaigns, Harding's estate and memorial services, and claims relating to the importation of sugar from Argentina by P. De Ronde & Co. Correspondents include Calvin Coolidge, Joseph Dutton, Harry S. New, and Carolyn Harding Votaw. Includes letters from Florence Kling Harding to Catherine McLean Brown New.
Charles Evans Hughes papers, 1836-1950 [Library of Congress, MSS26708]
- This large collection spans the entirety of Charles Evans Hughes' life and focus chiefly on his public service in the early 20th century. As it pertains to Harding, there is a considerable amount of information on Hughes as Secretary of State under President Harding, international relations during the Harding administration, and the 1921-1922 Conference on the Limitation of Armament.
Warren G. Harding-Carrie Fulton Phillips correspondence, 1910-1924 [Library of Congress, MSS48595]
- A series of passionate love letters that Warren G. Harding sent to his paramour Carrie Phillips before and during his term as a United States Senator. Also included are drafts and notes for correspondence written by Phillips during her approximately fifteen-year relationship with Harding, as well as a handful of other related items. After Carrie Phillips' death in 1965, the letters were discovered and eventually acquired by the Harding family. The Harding family later donated the correspondence to the Library of Congress, where they reside today.
- This collection has been digitized by the Library of Congress; this digitized version may be found here.
Phillips / Mathée collection, 1900-2014 [Library of Congress, MSS85928]
- This collection is a companion to the Warren G. Harding-Carrie Fulton Phillips correspondence, 1910-1924 (also held by the Library of Congress), and center on Isabelle Phillips Mathée, daughter of Carrie Fulton Phillips, as well as Isabelle's husband, William Helmuth Mathée. Included are photographs of Isabelle and her mother, Carrie, letters from President Harding to William Helmuth Mathée, and correspondence, legal papers, and news clippings concerning the discovery in 1964 of Harding's correspondence with Carrie Phillips and the subsequent legal proceedings. The final folder contains a statement from the four grandsons of Isabelle and William Mathée conveying their thoughts about these papers and the Warren G. Harding-Carrie Fulton Phillips Correspondence.
- This collection has been digitized by the Library of Congress; this digitized version may be found here.
Warren G. Harding: A Resource Guide [Library of Congress]
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs
- Hundreds of photographs of the Hardings digitized by the Library of Congress.
E. Mont. Reily papers, 1919-1923 [New York Public Library Archives and Manuscripts, MssCol 17910]
- The E. Mont. Reily papers consist chiefly of original incoming correspondence and copies of his outgoing correspondence with President Warren G. Harding, concerning Reily's term as governor of Puerto Rico. Letters and cablegrams relate to Reily's administrative policies and political appointments in Puerto Rico, dealings with Puerto Rican political parties and factions, fiscal affairs, and social welfare matters such as school and hospital conditions. Warren G. Harding's letters shed light on Puerto Rican affairs as viewed from Washington. Other topics include Republican Party matters, especially Harding's political appointments in Missouri, and Florence Harding's health. Other papers include letters from Harding as U.S. senator from Ohio to Reily and Edward B. Garretson of Missouri, and a few social letters from Reily to Mrs. Harding.
