Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Library at the Ohio History Center

Research By Staff Services

The Archives & Library staff is available to answer research request letters from the six general topics below:

Developmental Disabilities Research Requests

Land Research Requests

Legislative Research Requests

Mental Health Research Requests

Prison Copy or Research Requests

Vital Copy or Research Requests

Please be sure to review our collection holdings for each catagory. Requests must be prepaid with a check or money order payable to the Ohio History Connection. DO NOT SEND CASH. Contact us at reference@ohiohistory.org if you wish to pay online by credit card or have questions regarding foreign requests/payment. All research fees are final; we make every effort to find the record, but the fee is not returned if not located. Please allow six to eight weeks for a response.

If your request is not covered by one of our research request forms, please consider visiting our Archives & Library in person or hiring a private researcher when we resume onsite visitation.


Workshops & Webinars

The Ohio History Connection’s Archives & Library offers a series of workshops designed to help family history researchers find out about the many records and resources available for research.

The workshops offer an in-depth review of methods, tools, and sources for exploring your family’s history. We offer in-person workshops, hands-on technology topics, and webinar presentations. See individual workshop descriptions for location, date, and time.

New Genealogy Series! Where My Single Folk?

Want to venture out further on a branch of your genealogy tree to investigate your family, not in the direct ancestral line? Let's do it together! This series consists of virtual workshops that will explore how to research our unmarried, never married, divorced, widowed, adventurous relatives and everyone outside the direct descendant line to create a more inclusive family tree.

Create a fuller family tree with deeper roots that includes everyone's story.

Buy the Series!

$120 Ohio History Connection members / $150 non-members

*When you purchase the series receive free access to two exclusive bonus classes offered in October 2021.

 

Or Make Your Own Mini-Series

Use coupon code GEN21 in your shopping cart to buy three programs and get the fourth 50% off.


The Search for Equity Through Genealogy

Tuesday June 1, 2021 • 7pm
Online

The first lecture is Free! Advanced registration required.

Diversity, inclusion and equity are words heard often in our current day and age. But, do they have anything to do with family history? Join Nicka Sewell Smith a well-known professional photographer, speaker, host, consultant and documentarian with more than 20 years of experience as a genealogist. In this workshop Nicka will cover the direct and indirect ways genealogical and historical spaces have and have not been equitable in everything from records access, indexing, preservation efforts and more.  Additionally, discover ways individuals, organizations and institutions can help move things from dialogue to action. 

Buy the Series! $120 Ohio History Connection members / $150 non-member
Individual workshop: $20 Ohio History Connection member / $25 non-member
Advance registration required.


Sisters Are Doing It For Themselves–Finding Women in the Family Tree

Saturday June 19 • 10 a.m.
Online

Finding female ancestors often feels like an impossible task. Learn strategies to discover her in the traditional and non-traditional records with Lisa Lisson author of the Are You My Cousin? genealogy-focused blog. 

Buy the Series! $120 Ohio History Connection members / $150 non-member
Individual workshop: $20 Ohio History Connection member / $25 non-member
Advance registration required.


Using DNA Research to Solve Genealogy Mysteries

Saturday July 17 • 10 a.m.
Online

Have you ever wondered how amateur and professional genealogists identify unknown matches from the major DNA testing companies? Join Kelli Bergheimer, DNA expert, as she explains the methodology and steps needed to uncover the mysteries in your genealogy match list. Kelli will share, via a case study, the benefits of researching outside the direct descendant line. 

Buy the Series! $120 Ohio History Connection members / $150 non-member
Individual workshop: $20 Ohio History Connection member / $25 non-member
Advance registration required.


Workin' 9 to 5–Researching Our Elders' Occupations

Saturday Aug. 14 • 10 a.m.
Online

What did your ancestors do for a living? Numerous records generated about your ancestors may reveal the type of work they did and who employed them. Join Jayne Shoots Davis, a native of Columbus, Ohio and professional genealogist for 25 years. Learn how census records, obituaries, marriage or death records, city directory entries, draft registration records, pension records or local or county histories might provide clues to your elders' occupation and lifestyle.    

Buy the Series! $120 Ohio History Connection members / $150 non-member
Individual workshop: $20 Ohio History Connection member / $25 non-member
Advance registration required.


LGBTQ+ Genealogy–Inclusion of All Our Ancestors

Sat., Sept. 18 • 10 a.m.
Online

Join Stewart Blandón Traiman who has a wide breadth of genealogical source knowledge, both online and off-line to learn about the clues in the genealogical records to find ancestors that may have been Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender or Queer, alongside our LGBTQ ancestors in the historical context of LGBTQ rights. Stewart's specialty has become looking for LGBTQ people in the genealogical record. Clues to ancestors can be found in photographs, census, newspapers, obituaries, cemeteries, military records, marriage records and LGBTQ Archives worldwide. The presentation is both factual and emotional in portraying LGBTQ people in the past centuries. 

The second part of the presentation will focus on current genealogical software and the difficulty faced by LGBTQ and adoptive families. Sometimes the software just doesn't fit. Stewart will discuss recommendations on how software needs to evolve for today's families. Increase awareness of clues in the genealogical record that will raise a "rainbow flag." Write about LGBTQ ancestors just like any other person in a tree, openly and honestly.

Buy the Series! $120 Ohio History Connection members / $150 non-member
Individual workshop: $20 Ohio History Connection member / $25 non-member
Advance registration required.


Newspaper Research for a Fuller Family History

Thursday Oct. 7 • 7 p.m.
Online

What family history information can you find in newspapers? In this online workshop with Jen Cabiya, Digital Projects Coordinator for the Ohio History Connection, learn about birth, death and marriage announcements as well as gossip columns, fashion trends, legal news and religious life. We’ll discuss how to locate niche topics like these in newspaper repositories like Ohio Memory and the Library of Congress’ Chronicling America.

Included in the Series Purchase! 
Individual workshop: $20 Ohio History Connection member / $25 non-member
Advance registration required.


Learning More About Your Family Photographs 

Tuesday Oct. 19 • 7 p.m.
Online

*Bonus Class with Series Purchase

Do you have a collection of old photographs of your relatives but curious about the details? Photographs often capture more than we realize. Learn tips and techniques to sharpen your observation skills and discover details such as time periods, locations, and lifestyles when history was captured with Lisa Wood, Visual Resources Curator for the Ohio History Connection. This workshop will focus on 19th and 20th-century photography and the use of additional resources for researching your family in photos.

Included in the Series Purchase!
Individual workshop: $20 Ohio History Connection member / $25 non-member
Advance registration required.


How Deep Thy Religious Roots–Searching Church Records and Family That Joined a Religious Sect

Saturday Nov. 13 • 10 a.m.
Online

Did your ancestors go to church or synagogue or become a member of the religious sect? You will be guided by Jayne Shoots Davis, a native of Columbus, Ohio and professional genealogist for 25 years through using church records for family history research. We will look at the different types of Catholic, Protestant and Jewish records and where to locate them.  

Buy the Series! $120 Ohio History Connection members / $150 non-member
Individual workshop: $20 Ohio History Connection member / $25 non-member
Advance registration required.


OH-IO! Where should I go? Discovering Ohio’s Archives

Saturday Dec. 4 • 10 a.m.
Online

Do you have Ohio ancestors? Planning a trip to Ohio next year? Learn about the hierarchy and collections of genealogical libraries, archives and repositories in Ohio with Kelli Bergheimer, a national genealogical speaker. Find hidden gems to visit in person or search online from tiny town libraries to the wonderful regional and state resources. Regardless of where your family settled in Ohio, or even if they were just passing through, they may have left records in places you expected and places you didn't. This workshop may provide you with research ideas for those brick-wall ancestors whose records you've exhausted in their home locale.

Buy the Series! $120 Ohio History Connection members / $150 non-member
Individual workshop: $20 Ohio History Connection member / $25 non-member
Advance registration required.


Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

The Archives & Library at the Ohio History Center is a non-circulating research library. Our collections are available in Columbus, Ohio for public use. We will interlibrary loan microfilm formatted materials that fit into categories described below.

AVAILABLE through Interlibrary Loan

  • ∞ Newspaper microfilm – Search the Library and Newspapers section of our Online Collections Catalog. Add “npdb” to the end of your search term to limit the results to only newspapers. Or use the Browse by Newspapers feature. We loan newspapers that have a call number “Roll:” followed by a number (ex. Roll: 36371). We do not loan newspapers that have a call number “N” followed by a number and “Vol.” followed by a number (ex. N409 Vol. 076). Newspapers designated with an "N" are in paper format and available for use only in our library.

  • ∞ Microfilm of manuscript collections for which the Ohio History Connection holds the original material and negative master copy of the microfilm.

  • ∞ Some printed material (ex. published books) on microfilm.

UNAVAILABLE through Interlibrary Loan

  • ∞ Printed material (not held in microfilm format)

  • ∞ Manuscript material (not held in microfilm format)

  • ∞ Microfilmed manuscript collections for which the Ohio History Connection does not hold the original material and negative master copy of the microfilm.

  • ∞ Government record microfilm: such as census, marriage, birth, death and naturalization records

How to Order

We accept requests for borrowing microfilm by the following methods:

  • ∞ OCLC WorldShare (preferred)

  • ∞ Regular mail (see address below)

  • ∞ FAX (see FAX number below)

Requests must come from a library and be submitted on library letterhead or an official form so that we know the request is from a library, rather than directly from a patron or individual.  Microfilm loaned from the Ohio History Connection must be used only at the requesting library's building during the loan period.

Fees and Other Policies

Our fee for loaning microfilm to U.S. libraries is $5.00 per roll. The loan fee for libraries located outside of the U.S. is calculated based on actual mailing costs. Please contact reference@ohiohistory.org for a price quote.

  • ∞ Prepayment is not required. If orders are not prepaid, please request that we invoice the $5.00 per roll fee. We will then send an invoice with the film.

  • ∞ We accept payment via OCLC IFM or by check or money order. Checks should be made payable to the Ohio History Connection.

  • ∞ Loan period is 28 days.

  • ∞ Loaned material must be kept in the borrowing library at all times.

  • ∞ A library may have a maximum of 10 microfilm rolls from us at one time.

  • ∞ One renewal for up to 28 days is generally permitted unless other researchers have requested the material. There is no charge to renew a loan.

Contact Information:

Interlibrary Loan
Archives & Library
Ohio History Connection
800 East 17th Avenue
Columbus, OH 43211
U.S.A.

Phone: 614.297.2510
FAX: 614.297.2546
Email: reference@ohiohistory.org


Photocopy Requests

We require a specific citation for the materials you wish to have scanned. Certain materials may not be photocopied for preservation reasons, copyright status or due to other restrictions.

Due to the limited time staff has access to collections, copy requests exceeding 100 pages may be reviewed and accepted at the discretion of the Ohio History Connection Archives & Library staff.

Prior to sending the electronic scans, we will provide a page count with the total for your order. Requests are processed in the order in which they are received, and it could take up to several weeks to process and deliver a copy request. We will not begin processing the order until the payment has been received. Our fee for photocopy quality copies or electronic scans is $0.25 per page plus a $10.00 handling fee. Contact reference@ohiohistory.org for cost estimates.

A Photocopy Request requires a specific citation to the item to be copied. A specific citation to a book, pamphlet, or magazine must include:

  • Title of the item, article or chapter title

  • Author of the item

  • Date of publication

  • Call Number of the item

A specific citation to a manuscript or audio/visual collection must include:

  • Title of the item

  • Author of the item

  • Call Number of the item

  • Box and Folder Numbers or Microfilm Roll Number of the item (if applicable)

The Ohio History Connection reserves the right to restrict reproduction due to the following criteria.

  • Fragile condition of the item or record

  • Copyright restriction

  • Number of pages requested exceeds the policy for copying from a single item

  • Original research is required to identify items within a collection


Document Camera 

We have a standalone document camera, called a HoverCam, available for free to researchers in the Archives & Library research room. HoverCams attach to your Mac or Windows laptop computer and allow you to capture and save images directly to your device. Please ask the Reference Archivists in the library for assistance accessing the HoverCam. Personal document cameras and scanners are not permitted in the library.

Below are instructions for setup and using the Archives & Library HoverCam.

1. Download and Install HoverCam software

  • Connect the HoverCam using the provided USB cable to your laptop. Make sure the cable is plugged into the "Install" port on the HoverCam. You may visit their website ahead of time to download the HoverCam Flex 11 software.

2. Connect and Configure the HoverCam

  • Once the software is installed, exit out of the program. Plug the USB cable into the additional port at the base of the HoverCam. If the HoverCam software does not start automatically, manually start the application on your device. 
  • Click the "Settings" icon on the bottom right corner of the menu at the bottom of the program.
  • Use the "Archive" tab to select what folder you want to save your images. When you make this change, you will need to click "Save," then close and restart to HoverCam software.
  • Select the "Scan" tab to choose your file preferences (jpg, png, tiff, pdf, etc.)

3. Capture Images

  • Click the "Snapshot" icon on the menu at the bottom of the screen to take and save images.

4. Review Images

  • Select the "Expand" tab on the left side of the screen to view images you have made.
  • Click the "Go to Archive" arrow to view images saved to your hard drive.

When in doubt, check the Hovercam/USB ports and reboot the software. 


Citation: Citing Ohio History Connection Materials

We receive many inquiries about materials in our holdings that have been found in books or online. A good citation can help our staff and new scholars discover new aspects of Ohio's history. Your citation should include Ohio History Connection, the collection name and number, box number and folder number.

For example:

  • MSS 11. Box 3. Folder 11. Winthrop Sargent Papers, Map of the Illinois River: Ohio History Connection.

  • MSS 294. Box 3. Folder 1. Robert Lucas Collection, Letter from A. S. Millington, 1 May 1835: Ohio History Connection.

  • VFM 3696. Center for Media Development Collection, 1975: Ohio History Connection.


Permission to Publish

Where the Ohio History Connection holds copyright, it reserves the right to exercise judgment concerning the appropriateness of commercial reproduction and conformance with the values of the organization and those of the original creator.

Permission to publish may be offered only to the extent of the Ohio History Connection ownership of the rights related to the request or when documented special arrangements between the Ohio History Connection and the copyright holders have been made and when a request complies with donor agreements and any known copyright restrictions.

Any permission granted will be for one-time, non-exclusive use of the material.

Possession of a reproduction does not constitute permission to publish, exhibit, or broadcast it. Written permission (Request for Permission to Publish form) from the Ohio History Connection must be secured to publish, broadcast, exhibit, resell, or otherwise disseminate or make available in any form including digital or Web publishing, any materials, collections, or portions of collections obtained directly or indirectly from the Archives & Library at the Ohio History Connection.

The Ohio History Connection is unable to conduct copyright searches and cannot counsel users in the application of copyright law.


Researchers for Hire

The following people have indicated an interest in doing genealogical research for a fee. Arrangements for research must be handled directly with the researcher.

​The Ohio History Connection is not involved, nor does Ohio History Connection have any responsibility

for the work performed by a privately hired researchers listed below.

In-State Researchers

Troy Bailey
1659 Chapel Rd.
Jefferson, OH 44047
phone: 440/275-7829 or 440/645-0465
e-mail: tbailey@suite224.net
http://www.genealogicaltreesearch.com
(Ashtabula County and Surrounding Area)

Shelley Bishop
Buckeye Family Trees
4634 Shropshire Circle
Dublin, OH 43016
email: sbishop@buckeyefamilytrees.com
blog: http://www.buckeyefamilytrees.com
(Ohio research, Civil War, lineage societies; member Association of Professional Genealogists)

Jayne Davis
2018 Shallowford Ave
Columbus, OH 43235
phone: 614/889-2065
email: jayne@jldresearch.com

Laurie Hermance-Moore, MLS, AG®
Heritage Bridge
4921 Stoney View Court
Columbus, OH 43231
phone: 614-288-5656
e-mail: Laurie@HeritageBridge.com
www.heritagebridge.com
Accredited by the International Commission for the Accreditation of Professional Genealogists (ICAPGen) in U.S. Midwest States: Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, MIchigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri. 

Mrs. James G. Koogler
Tapping Roots
603 Grant St.
Fairborn, OH 45324-5428
phone: 937-879-3518
e-mail: Tappingroots@aol.com
(Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clinton, Darke, Greene, Logan, Madison, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, Warren, and Fayette Co.)

Carolyn Braden Lewis
CBL Research
225 Hayden Ave.
Riverside, OH 45431-1969
phone: 937/253-1029
e-mail: lcarolyn132@gmail.com
(Ohio in general; Midwest U.S.)

Alice Coyle Lunn, PhD, CG
8471 Lewis Rd.
PO Box 38187
Olmsted Falls, OH 44138
phone: 440/235-3885
(Ohio in general, especially Northeast Ohio and Irish records, Forensic Genealogy)

Marcia McCartt
16 W. Elm St.
Monroe, Ohio 45050
phone: 513/539-7406
email: blakatgal@aol.com
http://www.ancestorplace.com/
(All Ohio Counties; Indiana; Kentucky; Virginia; West Virginia; Tennessee; lineage society research; Member APG)

Carol Montrose
7421 Central College
New Albany, OH 43054
phone: 614/284-7944
e-mail: The_Yellow_Rose@hotmail.com
(Ohio in general, over 30 years’ experience)

Perry Palumbo
48 E Southington Ave
Worthington, OH 43085
phone: 614/888-3976
e-mail: ppalumbo59@gmail.com
(Specializes in newspaper research)

Kenna Peterson Knotts
Searching to Reunite
PO Box 296
Blacklick, OH 43004
phone: 614/759-9622
fax: 614/626-0408
e-mail: mkpsearch@msn.com
http://www.searchingtoreunite.com
(Private Investigator researching open/closed Ohio adoptions, Ohio family research and look-ups)

Sara Skotzke, PLCGS
Sara's Genealogy Research
1641 Chestnut Blvd.
Cuyahoga Falls, OH 44223
e-mail: genresearcher@ameritech.net
www.SarasGenealogyResearch.com
(APGEN member, researching Ohio)

Henry R. Timman
3985 Medusa Rd.
Norwalk, OH 44857-9520
phone: 419/668/1122
(Erie and Huron Co.)

Linda Van Dyke
PO Box 141113
Columbus, OH 43214
phone: 614/267-6424
e-mail: lvd4467@aol.com
(Ohio in general, especially Central Ohio)

Out-Of-State Researchers

Roseann Hogan, PhD
Ancestry Research Services
10624 S. Eastern Ave A 377
Henderson NV 89052
phone: 702.900.0760
e-mail:
Roseann@OhioFamilyHistory.com
http://www.OhioFamilyHistory.com
(Southern/Central Ohio, Kentucky native; German speaking countries, Irish, Italian, Jewish families; Access to national and international records via the famous Family History Library in Salt Lake City)

Yolanda Campbell Lifter
1920 Eva Lane
Malabar, FL 32950-3219
e-mail: ylifter@ohiofamilyresearch.com
http://www.ohiofamilyresearch.com
(Member of Association of Professional Genealogists)

Taylor Research Group
Pitt Street Centre
1240 N. Pitt St.
Suite 200
Alexandria, VA 22314
phone: 703/822-4658
email: info@taylorresearchgroup.com
http://www.taylorresearchgroup.com
(Environmental and Legal Research; Military Research; Ohio History; Military Records)
 
Josh Jenkins
Columbia, MD 21044
e-mail: services@ancestorstalker.com
http://www.ancestorstalker.com
(Association of Professional Genealogists member researching all counties in Ohio: Family Tree, Census, Civil War, Vital Records, DNA, Native American)

Professional Genealogists

American Ancestors
Washington DC
phone: 202 568-4557
email: americanancestors@gmail.com

Legacy Tree Genealogy
50 W. Broadway Suite 303
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
phone: 801.783.1277
e-mail: info@legacytree.com