Closed Stacks: Our collections are stored in a secure location, accessible only to archives library staff, with low lighting and constant temperature and humidity controls to ensure their safety and longevity.
Paged: Library staff collect items shelved in the closed stacks and deliver them to researchers in the library. The majority of our items will require paging.
Self-Serve: Researchers in the Reading Room and Microfilm Room are welcome to use the materials in those rooms. In the catalog, these are identified by the phrase, "Ohio History Center Research Room - Self Serve." Library staff will reshelve materials.
Handling Instructions: Archival collections require special care. Researchers may look at one box at a time, maintaining file order. Nitrile gloves are worn when handling photographs. Library staff will share instructions for safely handling materials.
Citations: "Citations" are a collections unique designation or description, and accurate citation allows researchers and archivists to locate materials. Citations for archival collections may include the title, collection or series number, box number and even folder number. Finding aids may be used to identify box and folder number.
Finding Aid: A document that describes an archival collection. It includes information about the contents, the size and the arrangement of the collection.
Prepare your reel information: Newspaper microfilm and government records (GR) on microfilm are shelved by roll number. Roll numbers can be found in the catalog record.
Restricted: Access to some materials may be limited for a number of reasons; format, condition, privacy concerns or statute, etc. Items may have a restriction notice in their catalog record. Consult the reference archivist if you have questions.