Skip to Main Content

Welcome to the Archives & Library at the Ohio History Center: Library Scanning Service & Citations

Welcome to the Ohio History Connection Archives & Library!

Contact Us

Contact the Archives & Library

Archives & Library 
Ohio History Connection 
800 East 17th Avenue 
Columbus, OH 43211 

Phone: 614.297.2510 
FAX: 614.297.2546 
Email: reference@ohiohistory.org

Library Scanning Service

Library Scanning Service

The Archives & Library staff are happy to assist researchers interested in specific collections by providing low-resolution, research-quality scans. Our scanning service cannot replicate archival research, including original research into collections to identify content or confirm references. Sometimes you may have to travel to engage with collections in person to further your research or may wish to consider hiring an unaffiliated local researcher.

On-site, staff may make scans or photocopies for researchers at a cost of 25 cents per page scanned or copied. Please note, requests for scans or photocopies by staff exceeding ten pages will not be completed on the same day. For large copy orders, exceeding 10 pages, or for researchers who cannot visit in person, we offer this library scanning service.

To start, the researcher must provide a specific citation for the materials to be scanned. A scanning request requires a specific citation to the item to be copied. Examples of complete citations by type include: 

Book, pamphlet, or magazine citations must include:

Title of the item, article or chapter title

Author of the item

Date of publication

Call Number of the item

Page numbers, if known

Newspaper article citations must include:

Title of the item or article

Title of the newspaper

Date of publication

Page number

Manuscript or audio/visual collection citations must include:

Title of the item

Author of the item

Call Number of the item

Box and Folder Numbers or Microfilm Roll Number of the item (if applicable)

 

The Ohio History Connection reserves the right to restrict or refuse reproduction including but not limited to the following criteria:

Condition of the item or record

Preservation concerns

Copyright restriction

Number of pages requested exceeds the policy 

Original research is required

Collection restrictions

Incomplete citations provided

 

Then, please contact photocopies@ohiohistory.org to initiate a request. Once staff have received a request, we will provide a page count with the total for the order. Once a researcher has accepted the page count, a digital payment link will be sent. We will not begin processing the order until the payment has been received. Requests are processed in the order in which they are received, and it could take up to several weeks to process and deliver a scanning request.

Our fee for electronic scans is $0.25 per page plus a $10.00 processing fee. The processing fee covers the cost of expenses related to fulfillment of your order.

Citation of OHC Materials

What is Citation?

We exist within a community of scholarship. The purpose of citation is to show other researchers where you found your information. Citations should be constructed in a way so that your sources can be easily relocated.

 

Citation of Ohio History Connection Materials

We receive many inquiries about materials in our holdings that have been found in books, within collections or online. A good citation can help our staff and new scholars discover new aspects of Ohio's history. Your citation should include Ohio History Connection, the collection name and number, box number and folder number.

For example:

  • MSS 11. Box 3. Folder 11. Winthrop Sargent Papers, Map of the Illinois River: Ohio History Connection.

  • MSS 294. Box 3. Folder 1. Robert Lucas Collection, Letter from A. S. Millington, 1 May 1835: Ohio History Connection.

  • VFM 3696. Center for Media Development Collection, 1975: Ohio History Connection.

Permission to Publish

Permission to Publish

Possession of a reproduction does not constitute permission to publish, exhibit, or broadcast it. Written permission (Request for Permission to Publish form) from the Ohio History Connection must be secured to publish, broadcast, exhibit, resell, or otherwise disseminate or make available in any form including digital or Web publishing, any copyrighted materials obtained directly or indirectly from the Archives & Library at the Ohio History Connection.

Where the Ohio History Connection holds copyright, it reserves the right to exercise judgment concerning the appropriateness of commercial reproduction and conformance with the values of the organization and those of the original creator.

Permission to publish copyrighted material may be offered only to the extent of the Ohio History Connection ownership of the rights related to the request or when documented special arrangements between the Ohio History Connection and the copyright holders have been made and when a request complies with donor agreements and any known copyright restrictions.

Any permission granted will be for one-time, non-exclusive use of the material.

The Ohio History Connection is unable to conduct copyright searches and cannot counsel users in the application of copyright law.

For more information, contact Rights and Reproductions staff at images@ohiohistory.org or 614.297.2530.

 

Permission to Quote

Permission to Quote

Text from materials held by Ohio History Connection may be quoted without permission of the organization. Proper citation and accuracy of the quoted text are the responsibility of the author. When quoting archival collections, please include the name of the collection, the collection number, and Ohio History Connection in the citation. You can find more information about citing items from our collection above.