Archives & Library
Ohio History Connection
800 East 17th Avenue
Columbus, OH 43211
Voicemail: 614.297.2510
FAX: 614.297.2546
Email: reference@ohiohistory.org
The Library's printed materials collection is rich in resources about Ohio's history and the people who have lived in our state. We have thousands of books, pamphlets and periodicals; as well as perhaps the largest collection of Ohio-related newspapers both in hardcopy newsprint and on microfilm.
Manuscripts and Audiovisual collections, those archival records created by Ohioans documenting more than 200 years of our shared history, include unique daguerreotypes and handwritten diaries, coupons for White Castle hamburgers, and more, preserving the records of Ohio businesses, families, organizations and politics.
The State Archives collections are the result of 50+ years collaboration between the Ohio History Connection and state and local governments to preserve the history of Ohio and its citizens.
Many of our collections have finding aids, or tools that can help researchers identify what might be included in a particular collection. To learn more, see our "Reading Room Resources" page.
Search our catalog to explore books, newspapers, periodicals, microfilm, company catalogs, pamphlets, maps, atlases and more. This search tool makes it easy to explore, learn, and connect with information across all our collections in one click!
Want to focus your search on archival collections, like manuscripts, diaries, journals, or audio/visual collections? Search only our archival collections by using our Archives Catalog search!
We collect books, newspapers, periodicals and ephemera with a strong relationship to Ohio's history that will be useful to our researchers.
Consideration is given to materials that are bound, indexed and sensibly arranged. Selection is guided by our Printed Materials Policy.
Interested in donating materials? Check out our print material donation guidelines to learn more!