Welcome to the Archives & Library at the Ohio History Center: Online Resources

Search Bertillon records of the Ohio Penitentiary and Ohio State Reformatory, and records from the Boys and Girls Industrial Schools.
https://resources.ohiohistory.org/incarceration/

Explore digital content from over 390 cultural heritage institutions representing all 88 of Ohio’s counties covering a wide range of topics from prehistory to present day.
https://ohiomemory.org/

Free access to over 1,000,000 full-text searchable pages of Ohio newspapers through Ohio Memory and the Library of Congress’s Chronicling America.
https://ohiomemory.ohiohistory.org/newspapers

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1770-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/

Free online archive of Ohio History's issues spanning from 1887 through 2004. Ohio History was established in June 1887 as the Ohio Archaeological and Historical Quarterly.
https://resources.ohiohistory.org/ohj/

This African American Experience in Ohio collection documents specific moments in the history of African Americans in Ohio in their own words, in particular focusing on their experiences from 1850 to 1920.
https://ohiomemory.org/digital/collection/p16007coll98

Ohio History Connection collects objects and artifacts that represent all of Ohio’s 88 counties and cover various topics, from the earliest Indigenous tribes to Ohio’s contributions to space exploration. Explore your Ohio story here!
https://museumcollections.ohiohistory.org/collection/museum/search

The Ohio Historical Marker program is administered by the Ohio History Connection. Discover more than 1,700 markers that share our state’s history.
https://remarkableohio.org/