Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Library at the Ohio History Center

Contact Us


Contact the Archives & Library

Archives & Library 
Ohio History Connection 
800 East 17th Avenue 
Columbus, OH 43211 

Phone: 614.297.2510 
FAX: 614.297.2546 
Email: reference@ohiohistory.org

Research Guides

Click on one of the research guides below to learn more about researching topics from birth and death records to newspapers and more. We'll break it down step by step to assist you in finding what you need.

Adoption and Guardianship Records

Developmental Disabilities Records

Land Research and Records

Legislative History Research

LGBTQ+ History Research

Mental Health Records

Military Records

Naturalization Records

Newspaper Research

Photograph Research

Prison Records

Religious Records Research

Vital Records (For example: Birth, Death, Marriage)

Will and Estate Research


Searchable Online Collections

Below are websites that include information from our wonderful online archives, library and museum collections. Explore the databases below to find out about people, places, and events in Ohio.

African American Experience in Ohio, 1850-1920

Chronicling America

Ohio History Central

Ohio History Journal

Ohio Memory

Ohio Newspaper Portal

Ohio Pix

Remarkable Ohio

Severe Weather in Ohio

Virtual First Ohioans

Additional Collections

To learn more about our Manuscripts & Audiovisual, or State Archives collections, please visit:

Manuscripts & Audiovisual

State Archives